The MDC, as an idea whose time was ripe, was endorsed on 26 February 1999 by over 700 men and women from all walks of life who converged at the women’s bureau in Hillside, Harare, for two days.

They set up various committees and sub committees to examine a whole gamut of Zimbabwean issues, only to resolve that the only way out was the need to challenge Zanu PF politically. During this convention key resolutions were adopted and the implementation of these have continued guide the MDC in quest to address a myriad of issues and imbalances created by Zanu PF.

The working people’s convention then gave birth to a political movement, the MDC, seven months later at Rufaro Stadium in Harare.

The MDC was then formed on the basis of carrying on the struggle of the people; the struggle for food and jobs; peace; dignity, decency and democracy; equal distribution of resources; and justice, transparency and equality of all Zimbabweans.Against this background, the MDC became a logical continuation and conclusion of the full realisation of the rights of the children, women and men of Zimbabwe and all those who live in it.

Inaugural Congress

On 26 January 2000 the party had its inaugural congress at the Chitungwiza Aquatic Complex. Morgan Tsvangirai became President. A constitution for the party was adopted. Zanu PF immediately entrenched political violence as a political culture, leading to dozens of deaths and massive displacements of the poor in the rural areas. The situation remains unchanged to this day.

A general election was held on the 26 June and the MDC officially won 57 seats against Zanu PF’s 63. However violence intensified after June 2000. Zanu PF proceeded to steal the presidential election of March 2002 but the party remained steadfast in its endeavour to bring about change and a new Zimbabwe.

2005 Parliamentary Election

In 2005 the party “with a heavy heart” participated in the parliamentary election which was against a background of massive violence and intimidation and an uneven electoral playing field. The party won 41 seats of the 120 contested seats. The party split in 2005 due to external interference: a tiny group, led by Welshman Ncube favoured negotiating with Zanu PF while the majority preferred to intensify pressure on Zanu PF for change.

2006 Watershed Congress

On the 16-19 March 2006 the MDC held its watershed congress and substantial resolutions were passed, peaceful and democratic means to push the aged dictator out were to be the hallmark of the future. That congress adopted a roadmap to legitimacy whose signposts and benchmarks saw the final collapse of the Zanu PF monolith and the termination of that party’s political monopoly.

Zanu PF’s demise culminated in Mugabe accepting defeat. He agreed to recognise the MDC and brought himself to a negotiating table to save his face. On 25 August 2008, the MDC officially took control of Parliament and elected the then acting national Chairman Lovemore Moyo as the speaker, a post jealously held that was held by Zanu PF since independence in 1980.

Coalition Government and the Third National Congress

On the 11th of January 2009, President Morgan Tsvangirai became the Right Honourable, the Prime Minister of the Republic of Zimbabwe. With his assumption of duty as head of government, Zanu PF effectively crushed its own spine and has since survived through the control of a mere 37 percent of the organs of the state in a coalition it previously vowed would never be seen in Zimbabwe.

The party held its third national congress in April 2011. Apart from the new National Executive and National Council, Hon Douglas Mwonzora, Solomon Madzore and Abednico Bhebhe rose through the ranks into the Standing Committee. Hon Mwonzora became the Secretary for Information and Publicity; Madzore took over as the youth chairperson while Bhebhe became the deputy national organiser.

The 4th National Congress of October 2014 saw Mr Douglas Mwonzora taking the reigns as the party's Secretary General while Hon Paurina Mpariwa became his deputy. Mrs Makone became the National Treasurer and Charlton Hwende became the Deputy National Treasurer. Abedinico Bhebhe was elevated to become the National Organising Secretary and Amos Chibaya deputising him after the passing on of Thamsanqa Mahlangu.
Obert Chaurura Gutu became the party's information and publicity secretary being deputised by Hon. Thabitha Khumalo



44 Nelson Mandela Street

Phone:     +263 773011263
WhatsApp    +263 771687197